WIDEWALLS | 19 January 2018

Swiss art magazine Widewalls has reviewed One Year of Resistance, a group show at Untitled Space in New York City reflecting on the political climate after a year of Donald Trump’s presidency that includes photographic work by Signe Pierce.

One Year of Resistance – How Artists See Trump’s Presidency So Far

By Angie Kordic

January 20th, 2018 marks a year since the official inauguration of the 45th President of the United States, Donald Trump.

The event was an important one on many levels, and as such it also affected the art world, with many artists protesting the arrival of this controversial, to say the least, personality.

New York’s Untitled Space is once again hosting a group exhibition, this time featuring 80+ individuals and artworks in a vast variety of media, following last year’s critically-acclaimed show UPRISE / ANGRY WOMEN.

While previously these pieces reflected on social and political climate in America in light of the presidential election, this time they address the issues faced by society under Trump as President.


Curated by Untitled Space gallery director and artist Indira Cesarine, the ONE YEAR OF RESISTANCE showcase tackles many topics, all of which have managed to hit the headlines over the past 365 days.

Celebrating art as activism, the show puts on display concerns on immigration rights, transgender rights, women’s rights, climate change, health care, gender equality, white supremacy, sexual harassment and gun control, among others.

With the current political agenda, contemporary culture is dealing with some challenging issues, and this exhibition stands to illustrate that fact via an unhampered visual language.

The World Under Trump’s Presidency

Commenting on the state of America during the past year, Indira Cesarine emphasizes the importance of a continuing fight for basic human rights which crumble before our eyes.

In a statement, the leader of one of the first exhibitions as part of the Resistance movement lists the aspects of life and culture that have been attacked and compromised under the Trump administration, and states they will not give up.

It is extremely disturbing that our cultural foundation is being rocked by the very platform that is meant to protect and serve our nation. The exhibition ONE YEAR OF RESISTANCE give[s] voices to artists from all backgrounds, genders and ages in light of these controversial issues that have brought millions to the streets in protest.

Group Exhibition at Untitled Space

ONE YEAR OF RESISTANCE opened on January 16th at The Untitled Space in New York City, and will stay on view through February 4th, 2018. A portion of the proceeds from the sales of the works on view will benefit the ACLU Foundation.

Full list of participating artists:
Alexandra Rubinstein, Alfonse Pagano, Alison Jackson, Alyson Provax, Ann Lewis, Anna Rindos, Annalisa Iadicicco, Annika Connor, Anya Rubin, Bradford Scott Stringfield, Cabell Molina, Camilla Marie Dahl, Cara De Angelis, Danielle Siegelbaum, Daryl Daniels, Desire Moheb Zandi, Desdemona Dallas, Dessie Jackson, Diana Casanova, Dolly Faibyshev, Domenica Bucalo, Eleni Giannopoulou, Elisa Garcia de la Huerta, Elise Vaselakis, Elizabeth Wentling, Erin Victoria Axtell, Fahren Feingold, Gabriela Handal, George Lorio, Grace Graupe Pillard, Haley R Hatfield, Hannah Stahl, Indira Cesarine, James Hsieh, Jamia Weir, Jamie Martinez, Janet Braun-Reinitz + Sarah Maple, Jen Dwyer, Joanne Leah, Joel Tretin, Joyce Ellen Weinstein, Kat Toronto aka Miss Meatface, Kate Hush, Katya Kan, Kiley Ames, Kristin Malin, Kristin O’Connor, Leah Schrager, Leslie Kerby, Leslie Sheryll, Linda Bond, Linda Friedman Schmidt, Lola Jiblazee, Lola Ogbara, Manju Shandler, Marne Lucas, Mary Tooley Parker, Michael Reece, Michele Pred, Nichole Washington, Olga Filippova, Olive Allen, Panteha Abareshi, Parker Day, Rada Yakova, Rebecca Goyette, Rebecca Leveille, Rosary Solimanto, Rosemary Meza-DesPlas, Rute Ventura, Sarah Dillion, Signe Pierce, Stephanie Hanes, Tatana Kellner, Tommy Mitchell, Touba Alipour, Valerie Carmet, Valery Estabrook, Vanessa Teran, Vittorio Ottaviani, Yuri Murphy.

Link to the article